Connect with us


Travis Mutyaba becomes the first Ugandan to win the CAF Confederations Cup after Zamalek win

After Zamalek SC defeated RS Berkane in the championship game thanks to the away goals rule, Travis Mutyaba became the first player from Uganda to win the CAF Confederation Cup.

Following RS Berkane’s 2-1 victory in Berkane, Zamalek defeated the Moroccan team 1-0 in the second leg in Cairo to level the score at 2-2.

In the twenty-third minute, Ahmed Hamdi gave Zamalek the crucial goal that sealed their second CAF Confederation Cup victory.

Travis Mutyaba was left off the matchday roster for the projected second leg despite not being used as a substitute in the first leg in Morocco.

His first trophy since joining the White Knights four months ago in February was the Confederation Cup championship.

Due to the away goals rule, Khalid Aucho lost to Algeria’s USM Alger on the same stage that he had nearly triumphed with Tanzania’s formidable Yanga last year. The former SC Villa and Uganda Cranes forward nonetheless got a medal despite not playing in the final. Travis Mutyaba Zamalek

Below are the previous winners of the trophy:-

2023/24: Zamalek SC (Egypt)
2022/23: USM Alger (Algeria)
2021/22: RS Berkane (Morocco)
2020/21: Raja Casablanca (Morocco)
2019/20: RS Berkane
2018/19: Zamalek SC (Egypt)
2017/18: Raja Casablanca (Morocco)
2016/17: TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
2015/16: TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
2014/15: Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia)
2013/14: Al Ahly (Egypt)
2012/13: CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
2011/12: AC Leopards (Congo Brazzaville)
2010/11: MAS Fes (Morocco)
2009/10: FUS Rabat (Morocco)
2008/09: Stade Malien (Mali)
2007/08: CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
2006/07: CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
2005/06: Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia)
2004/05: FAR Rabat (Morocco)
2003/04 : Hearts of Oak (Ghana)

More in Football